ANZ Retired Officers' Club (VIC)




101 ANZROC Members and partners attended a most enjoyable St Patrick’s Day Luncheon at the Maroondah Club on 17 March. This event is fast becoming a tradition and members and partners relished the opportunity to catch up with workmates and their partners from years gone by

The combination of members and partners created a great party atmosphere and the green serviettes and green attire worn by many in attendance, added to the Irish theme. The Club generously donated bottles of wine to the members to supplement the ROC wine contribution of $200

President Neville Pearson in green Guinness Irish hat warmly welcomed everyone and advised that apologies had been received from:

Graeme Ainscough, , John and Pat Bloom ,Geoff Burton, Geoff Christensen, Col and Ethel Edwards, Lawrie Foord, Norris Gale(in Cambodia),, Ray Gill, Frank and Joan Hatfield ,Keith Higgs, Bruce and Audrey Kells, Geoff Meggs, Joan Nathan, Leigh and Pat O’Neill, Don Taylor, Paul Tovey, Eamon Veaney, Bill Walker, Julie Wilkins,

Neville thanked Lyn and Les Stevens for the work they put into organizing the event with the Maroondah club and for our Social Subcommittee member David Knuckey and wife Glen for their help and support.  Special mention was also made of the support the Maroondah Club management and staff had given and for the catering staff in particular, who were so obliging and professional in ensuring the occasion was such a success

With the formal part of the luncheon over, our resident Leprechaun (Kevin Mitchell) entertained the assembly with a wide rendition of Irish stories (all true I am told) much to the merriment of all in attendance. When yours truly departed from the club, several of our members were endeavoring to empty the pokies, with some success I hope

Members not seen for a while included Wendy Bradley, Roger Brown, Jock Buntain, John Flyger, Barbara Gardiner, David Gibb, John Goodwin, Hedley Ham, Jack Helisma, Doug Imrie, Colin McNamara, Roy Peake, Tom Portelli, John Sanderson, Allen Thorp, David Schunke, Evon Whalen, Glenda White, Roy Willoughby